

### **Development Services Department**

Building | GIS | Planning & Zoning

### **Application: Demolition/Moving Permit**

<b>Demolition Fee:</b> □ Residential/Shed/A	gricultural/Moving/Salvage	e - \$80.60; □ Commercial - \$141.20
Permit Type:   Residential Demo	☐ Commercial Demo ☐	☐ Moving ☐ Other
Project Address, City, Zip:		
Tax ID/Parcel Number:		
Project value: \$		
Number of structures to be demolished	d or moved? 1 2 3 4	5+
Project total sq. ft	ver 10,890 sq. ft. a Dust Cor	ntrol Plan is required.
Demolition Date//		
Description of work:		
Location of debris disposal:	ouse for disposal requiremen	Asbestos Present - Yes / No nts at (435)716-9777.
<b>Applicant</b>		
Name	Phone	Email
Mailing Address, City, State, Zip		
<b>Property Owner</b>		
Name	Phone	Email
Mailing Address, City, State, Zip		
Contractor		
Name		
Business Address, City, State, Zip		
I hereby certify that I have read and correct. All provisions of laws and or whether specified herein or not, the guidate or cancel the provisions of a performance of construction and that I is	dinances governing this typeranting of the permit does any other state of local 1	be of work shall be complied with, s not presume to give authority to aw regulating construction or the
Signature I	□ Owner □ Applican	t 🗆 Contractor 🗆 Other

### You must complete the following steps prior to demolition, salvage, or structure moving:

- 1. Inspection The building/structure(s) <u>MUST</u> be inspected for asbestos by a State Certified Asbestos Inspector. A current list of asbestos contractors may be found on the Utah Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) / Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ) website <u>www.deq.utah.gov</u> / <u>www.asbestos.utah.gov</u> / (801)536-4000. Avoid penalties and delays by having your project inspected for asbestos by a state certified asbestos inspector before commencing work. You are subject to State and/or Federal Regulations even when there is no asbestos present.
- 2. Demolition Notification A Demolition Notification form must be submitted to the Utah DAQ with fee, even if no asbestos was found during the inspection. The Utah DAQ requires notification and a waiting period of at least 10 working days before you may demolish or move the building/structure. This permit becomes null and void if work has not commenced within the allowed time period listed on the "10-Day Demolition Notification" unless approval has been granted by Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ) and supplemental documentation has been provided to the authorizing jurisdiction.
- **3. Asbestos Removal** (if necessary) Must be performed by a Utah Certified Asbestos Contractor.
- **4. Apply for a County Demolition Permit** Submit application, pay the fee, provide required documents, and obtain a permit from the Cache County Building Department. The following are required with this application:

All utilities must be shut off/disconnected prior to any demolition work. For shut off/disconnection it
is the owner's responsibility to contact:

- Rocky Mountain Power (888)221-7070
- Dominion Energy (800)323-5517
- Water District if not connected to a well
- Blue Stakes (800)662-4111

Biae States (000)002 1111
One copy of Proof of Ownership (Tax Roll), available at the County Recorder and Development Services Offices.
One copy of current plat, available at the County Recorder and Development Services Offices.
Site plan (8.5 x 11) of property showing all structures to be demolished or moved.
One copy of Asbestos Report from a certified inspector.
One copy of the Accepted and paid DEQ Demolition Notification 10 Day Form.
One copy of the Asbestos Removal Report if asbestos is removed. Permits will not be issued if the ending date has passed.
Dust Control Plan from the Utah DAQ/DEQ is required if disturbing over 10,890 sq. ft. of the property. See <a href="www.deq.utah.gov">www.deq.utah.gov</a> to complete online and print a copy to be submitted.
If the property is located within Providence City or Hyrum City, a written authorization from the appropriate jurisdiction is required

### No burning is allowed per Utah State Code R307-202-5 General Requirements.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, no person shall set or use an open outdoor fire for the purpose of disposal or burning of petroleum wastes; demolition or construction debris; residential rubbish; garbage or vegetation; tires; tar; trees; wood waste; other combustible or flammable solid, liquid or gaseous waste; or for metal salvage or burning of motor vehicle bodies.

Schedule a Demolition Inspection – All demolition permits require a FINAL inspection after the structure(s) are completely demolished and debris is removed. If a Commercial Demolition Permit is issued, an additional inspection must be scheduled during the actual demolition process. Call Cache County Building Department, 24 hours in advance of desired demolition inspection time with the permit number or address. A copy of the Demolition Permit will be emailed to the Assessor's Office noting the property has been inspected and the structure(s) have been removed.

## (Continued from previous page)

are being performed. The demolition dates are NOT a window of opportunity or time appropriate notification fee must be paid to nformation on the Demolition Notification Form may be cause to reject the form and may cause delays for your demolition schedule. The dates on the form must be the actual dates when demolition activities when demolition MAY occur. Demolition Notification Forms must be revised when any information on the previous submitted form nas changed, such as demolition start and end dates or if the demolition contractor changes. There is no additional fee for making revisions to Demolition Notification the Utah DAQ at least 10 working days prior to demolition, Inaccurate or missing

State and Federal regulations are very specific about demolition date revision procedures. If the start date will be later than the original date, give written notice to the Utah DAQ the day before the original start date, or, give verbal notice as soon as possible before the original start date and written notification no later than the original start date date needs to be earlier, make sure the revision is received by the Utah DAQ no less than ten working days prior to the desired start date.

Violation of State and Federal asbestos rules or regulations can result in life threatening exposure to asbestos, monetary penalties, project delays, and increased waste disposal

### **During the Demolition**

Carefully read and understand the asbestos inspection report before you start the demolition. Contact the Utah certified asbestos inspector that wrote the asbestos inspection report if you have questions about what is in

that report.

Watch for suspect asbestos-containing materials that were missed or were not accessible to the Utah certified asbestos inspector and have not been evaluated. Especially watch for materials in voids, walls, under floors, and other inaccessible areas.

Do not make non-friable roofing and flooring materials regulated asbestos containing material when processing the material by grinding, sanding, or abrading Category I nonfriable asbestos-containing materials defined earlier in this pamphlet.

Notify the Utah DAQ if additional regulated asbestos-containing materials have been disturbed during demolition activities.

Eliminate demolition dust!! Have a dust control plan if the property is over ¼ acre. Ensure a proper water supply for the demolition methods being used. Keep debris wet during demolition and loading processes. Use handling techniques that reduce dust (such as releasing debris as low as possible inside the waste container). Make sure non-friable asbestoscontaining materials are wet and manifested or accompanied by a waste shipment record.

# Questions about Demolition Notification Forms? Please contact the Utah Division of Air Quality at (801) 536-4000.

For a list of Utah certified asbestos companies that perform asbestos inspections, notification forms, and any other information about Utah asbestos rules, see our web page at:

### www.asbestos.utah.gov or you can call the Utah DAQ at (801) 536-4000

DISCLAIMER: Every effort has been made to assure that this pamphlet is consistent with state and federal law. Be familiar with local, state, and federal laws relating to demolition. This pamphlet does not supersede local, state, or federal law.

Version 1.3 - DAQA-057-17

### **Demolition**

How to Comply with Federal and Utah Demolition Requirements

### Utah Department of Environmental Quality Utah Division of

**Air Quality** 



### AIR QUALITY

195 North 1950 West Salt Lake City, Utah 84116 PO Box 144820 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4820

Telephone (801) 536-4000 Fax (801) 536-4099 asbestos@utah.gov www.asbestos.utah.gov

# State and Federal Demolition Laws

demolish or move a structure. The definition any related handling operations, or the Administrative Code (UAC) R307-801, Utah nember of a regulated facility together with rehicles, or equipment with permanently The Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ) requires notification and a waiting period of at least 10 working days before you Asbestos Rule, is,"…the wrecking, salvage, or emoval of **any load-supporting structural** ntentional burning of any regulated facility. This includes the moving of an entire building, attached axles, such as trailers, motor homes, and mobile homes that are specifically but excludes the moving of structures, as defined in designed to be moved." "demolition"

"Regulated Facilities" includes structures subject to the Asbestos NESHAP (National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants/Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 61 Subpart M), AHERA (40 CFR Part 763), and the Utah Asbestos Rule (UAC R307-801) and means, "...any institutional, commercial, public, industrial, or residential structure, installation, or building any structure, installation, or building containing condominiums or individual dwelling units operated as a residential co-operative)...or any ship, and any active or inactive waste disposal

If you conduct any of the demolition activities described above, you are subject to the Federal Asbestos NESHAP and/or Utah State Asbestos Rule. Asbestos does not need to be found in the structure for you to be subject to these laws. If you are going to demolish or move a structure, you are required to have an asbestos inspection report written by a Utah certified asbestos company using a Utah

certified asbestos inspector. If friable regulated asbestos-containing material is found, it needs to be removed by a Utah certified asbestos company with Utah certified supervisors and workers prior to demolition.

You will also need to notify the Utah DAQ 1 to 10 working days before removing regulated asbestos-containing materials (depending on the amount of asbestos being removed).

Also, you may need to get a demolition permit from your local governmental agency. Please contact the city and/or county in which the structure is located to determine if any local demolition permitting requirements or rules exist

### Prior to Demolition

Determine if you are performing a regulated demolition. If you are performing any demolition activities identified above in a regulated structure, you are subject to either the Asbestos NESHAP or the Utah Asbestos Rule or both. Residential structures are subject to the Utah Asbestos Rule and includes all residential structures including any outbuildings of greater than 100 square feet. If you are performing any regulated demolition activities, you will need to submit a Utah DAQ Demolition Notification Form that is postmarked or delivered to the DAQ at least 10 working days before you start demolition. These forms can be found on the DAQ web site at:

## www.asbestos.utah.gov

# If you have questions, contact Utah DAQ at 801-536-4000 or at asbestos@utah.gov

If you are performing a regulated demolition, have an asbestos inspection performed by a Utah certified asbestos inspector working for a Utah certified asbestos company. If regulated asbestos-containing material is found, determine if it needs to be removed. Category

company with certified supervisors/workers prior to the fire training exercise. Asbestos gaskets, resilient floor coverings, or asphalt asbestos) are not required by the Utah DAQ to be removed from a structure unless those materials will become friable during demolition can become friable during fire training exercises or demolition activities will need to be removed by a Utah certified asbestos abatement activities more than 3 square feet or 3 linear feet will also require notification to Utah DAQ and will need to be completed prior to the start of fire training exercises or non-friable asbestos-containing materials roofing products containing more than 1% or will be used in a fire training exercise. Other regulated asbestos-containing materials that ...such as asbestos containing packings, demolition activities. If any cement from the demolition project will be crushed, recycled, or reused, all regulated asbestos-containing flooring materials and mastic (glue) will need to be removed prior to demolition.

If asphalt roofing shingles are going to be burned or used as a fuel and are not going to a landfill for disposal, they will need to be tested for asbestos. If any asbestos is found during testing, then the shingles cannot be burned or used as a fuel and must be disposed at a landfill. Make sure the asbestos inspector knows how the structure will be demolished (in a fire training exercise, conventional demolition practices, etc.) so the asbestos inspection can be performed properly. Also, please let the asbestos inspector know if any demolition waste is not going to a landfill.

## Demolition Notification Form Requirements

Demolition Notification Forms must be properly completed, submitted, and the

(Continued on next page)